Construction Industry Vocational Training Committee

Construction Industry Vocational Training Committee

The Committee on Vocational Training in the Construction Industry (CFPIC) gives the Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ) advice on all questions regarding vocational training in the construction industry, keeping in mind the qualitative and quantitative needs of the industry’s companies and workers.

The committee has 12 members, including a chairperson appointed by the president of the CCQ. The same associations as those seated on the Joint Construction Committee appoint the members of the CFPIC. This committee makes proposals to the CCQ designed to encourage implementation in the construction industry of the objectives of the Act to promote workforce skills development and recognition, by taking account that this statute requires employers to participate in development of labour-force training. It also determines the general rules for use of a training fund administered by the CCQ as provided by the Act.

The CCQ must obtain comments from the CFPIC on all proposed modifications to the Regulation Pertaining to the Labour force in the Construction Industry.

There are vocational subcommittees and regional subcommittees that support the CFPIC, as they have the mandate of giving advice on the aspects that concern them. The 25 vocational subcommittees advise on development and review of the training and apprenticeship programs and the satisfaction of needs for upgrading, and the ten regional subcommittees advise on the labour needs in their respective regions and the needs for skill development among targeted workers.

To consult the document concerning the mode operation of the Committee on Vocational Training in the Construction Industry (CFPIC) and its subcommittees, click on the following link: Encadrement et mode de fonctionnement du comité sur la formation professionnelle de l'industrie de la construction (CFPIC) et de ses sous-comités (in french only).

Vocational Training Committee Members
Josée Fortier Commission de la construction du Québec (CCQ)
Employer representatives
Dominic Robert Association des entrepreneurs en construction du Québec (AECQ)
Marc-Antoine Paquette Association de la construction du Québec (ACQ)
Pierre Tremblay Association des constructeurs de routes et grands travaux du Québec (ACRGTQ)
Francis Montmigny Association des professionnels de la construction et de l'habitation du Québec inc. (APCHQ)
Steve Boulanger Corporation des maîtres mécaniciens en tuyauterie du Québec (CMMTQ)
Union representatives
Carl Dufour Centrale des syndicats démocratiques (CSD-Construction)
Jean-Louis Simard Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN-Construction)
Michel Couillard Conseil provincial du Québec des métiers de la construction (International) (CPQMCI)
Sylvie Vandette Fédération des travailleurs et travailleusesdu Québec (FTQ-Construction)
Charles-Olivier Picard Syndicat québécois de la construction (SQC)
Ministère de l’Éducation
Marie-Dominique Taillon Sous-ministre adjointe – Secteur de l'excellence scolaire et de la pédagogie
François Charette Vice-président Affaires juridiques et Secrétaire général (CCQ)

By continuing to navigate on this site, you accept the use of cookies and other tracers enabling us to propose content and promotions adapted to your interests and to gather visit statistics for the purpose of improving your navigation experience. You may block the transmission of data at any time by using the Google add-on.

To find out more about our confidentiality policy and conditions of use, click here.